Posted in My Thoughts, writing

5 Ways I Beat a Blogging Slump

If you have had a blog for a while then you have probably felt uninspired or you just don’t feel like blogging at least once before. This has happened to me quite often, so today I thought I would share five ways I beat a blogging slump.

1. Rest.

Sometimes you need a break from the blogging world. Don’t worry about your blog or if your followers will stay (because unless you are unheard from for months on end this isn’t going to happen), it will be fine. You are supposed to be enjoying this break. When you feel like you are readyย just hop right back in to blogging. If you cannot spring right back into blogging, try the other five tips. During this break, you could also use the time to become organized with school work or other reasons that you are having less time for school work.

2. Be Inspired.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

When you don’t know what to post or you are just feeling lazy you need to be inspired. This might be through using Pintrest, reading someoneโ€™s blog, watching a YouTube video, or talking with other bloggers. I know whenever I talk to any of my blogging friends I am motivated to write. Pintrest group boards are also really great for collaborative ideas (link to my Pintrest here). I recommend writing down ten post ideas– they can be horribleโ€” this is a sure-fire way to feel inspired. Take inspiration from your favorite posts to read and things you’ve seen recently in the community.

3. Become Organized.

You have lots of ideas but they are all in your head you can easily lose them. There is usually more pressure you will feel if you aren’t organized. Here are just a few organization ideas that make everything so much easier:

-Create a schedule, even if you decide not to follow it. It is always a safe idea to have an outline.

-Write out the theme of your blog. If your blog doesn’t have a purpose, then it will be harder to tailor ideas to use.

-Create goals. Goals will give you a point of which to work from. If you know what you want to do and when you can pin-point exactly how to accomplish them.

Hayley (Flourishingbyrestfulfalls) did a really great series about blogging that I really recommend. She had so many positive responses with it. Here is the link to the first part.

4. Try Something new.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Starting with something that is fresh and new can jump start your productivity. Whether it is a new type of post, season change, blog theme, or a new way of taking photos doing something new will help get you excited about blogging. Find something new and challenging that you love. For me, this was experimenting more with photography especially through taking more vertical pictures (like the one above).

5. Start Small.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Now that you have all these ideas and plans you may start to become overwhelmed. Take baby steps. With so many goals you may become frustrated about accomplishing it all. I think it is best to start with a few simple goals. For you that might be posting twice a week for a month, while for someone else it might be posting twice in a month. If you can easily accomplish the few minor goals you set, move on and slowly add more. If it doesn’t work, simplify your goals and try more minute.

Those are five of my tips to beat a blogging slump. Let me know your tips and suggestions by commenting. Also, I would love to know if you like this type of post and want more of them. Talk to you soon!

-Rebekah

13 thoughts on “5 Ways I Beat a Blogging Slump

  1. These are great tips!! I get stuck in blogging slumps ALL the time. Next time I’m in a “serious slump” I’m gonna resort back to this post to motivate me :).

  2. Great post, Rebekah! I especially like the “Try something new” and “Be Inspired” tips! ๐Ÿ˜€ One thing I like to do if I don’t know what to post about is simply look through my photos. I take pictures of pretty much everything, so I can usually find something to post about there. XD ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

