Posted in My Thoughts

What I’ve Been Reading- September 2016

{Featured image via}

HI! I’m really excited for this post! In my summer bucket list, I mentioned that I hadn’t been reading that much but ever since summer hit I’ve been reading a ton. I thought I would share all the books I’ve read in September and which books I still plan to read. Some of these books I read for fun, but others I read for school.

I’ve seen these posts floating around the blogging community and I love the idea so I thought I’d try it. Ok, I think I’m done explaining ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let’s start!


The Bible, inspired by God- read

September 1, 2016 was a momentous day in my life. I finished reading through the entire Bible! I started reading on January 1, 2015 and planned to read it in a year. It took way longer than that but I finished! I used a plan on the Holy Bible app. They have lots of great plans on the app. I completely recommend reading this book, over and over again ๐Ÿ˜‰

Rich Dad, Poor Dad,ย Robert Kiyosaki- read

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Before I go to bed at night, I read to help me fall asleep. I like to read educational/boring books because it makes me sleepy. This book I do suggest you read. I read it all summer and finally finished it at the beginning of September. It talks about finances and it was actually interesting and definitely useful.

A Moment Of Weakness and Halfway to forever, Karen Kingsbury- read

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I read both of these within the first week of September. They are part of a three book series (the first one is called Waiting For Morning). I totally recommend this series, though it does have some more mature themes since it is adult fiction.

Battle of The Labyrinth,ย Rick Riordan- readย 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Another great book in the Percy Jackson series! I’m dying to know how the series ends. I definitely recommend this book. I recently got into the Percy Jackson series after reading The Lightning Thief for school. I guess I’m part of my first ever fandom… Yay me!

Gilgamesh The Hero, Geraldine McCaughery- read

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This one I read for school. It’s the oldest known written story but this is a rewritten version. It was super cool to read the oldest known story. It wasn’t my most favorite book but it was still an interesting read.

Even Now, Karen Kingsbury- read

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Another really great Karen Kingsbury book. She is just such a wonderful writer. All the things I said above apply here too.

Dark Sons, Nikki Grimes- read

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Now I don’t like poems but this book was so good! It is a bunch of small poems though they aren’t the rhyming kind. It tells the story of a fictional boy named Sam and also Ishmael from the Bible. Both are abandoned by their fathers for other women (not their biological mothers). I really recommend it. Not a hard read.

The Law, Frederic Bastiat- reading

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This book I received when I went to an economics course. I pulled it off my shelf and decided to try it after finishing Rich Dad, Poor Dad. I haven’t read a lot of it yet and honestly I don’t really know what it’s about! So I can’t really recommend it.

Maggie’s Miracle, Karen Kingsbury- read

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Haha, can you tell who my favorite author is? This was great book. The ending was definitely a twist. I forgot to mention earlier but Karen Kingsbury is a Christian author and all her books are centered around God. I love her!

Heros, Gods, and Monsters of Greek Myths, Bernard Evslin-reading

In school we are learning about ancient history so this is another book I’m reading for my literature class. So far so good. It tells about all the different greek gods and their myths. It’s interesting to note that some of the information in this book is really different then what I’ve read in Percy Jackson but some of it is similar.

The Last Olympian, Rick Riordan- TBRย 

I said above that I want to finish the Percy Jackson series. So, to the library I go!


Whew, there are all the books. To me, this is a lot of books for one month. Have you read any of these books? What did you read this September?

Signing of for now!

Summer Signature

I went zip lining for the first time on Saturday! It was AMAZING!

15 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading- September 2016

  1. I never thought I’d be a Percy J fan, but I read Lightning Thief this summer, too, and now I am at the same point you are! I have never read Rich Dad, Poor Dad… Thanks for reminding me.
    This month I have been reading Little Women. I also finished Shakespeare’s Secret.

    1. I never thought I would be either but I decided to give it a shot when my teacher recommended it for summer reading and it was well worth it. Your welcome! Rich Dad, Poor Dad is an extremely helpful book. I’ve watched the movie of Little Women but never taken the time to read the book. I should. I hadn’t heard of Shakespeare’s Secret.

    1. My dad recommended I read it so I tried it and it was really helpful! Thank you. It was a really big deal for me and now something I can check off my bucket list ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. WOW! You read a lot of books! Good job!
    I’ve been reading a lot of Amish Fiction lately – I love Beverly Lewis! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I haven’t read any of Karen Kingsbury’s books, but maybe I’ll check one out sometime! ๐Ÿ™‚
    ~Jaclynn~

  3. Wow, good for you, Rebekah! Ooh yay, some book suggestions! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll have to try some of Karen Kingsbury.
    P. S. You went ziplining? Ahhh, I wish I could too! We have a small zipline in our yard, but it doesn’t really work at the moment. :/

Leave a Reply

